Classically trained musician, I was also very young interested in other musical styles, in parallel with my studies at the conservatory ... at 10 years a real electroshock has arrived with the discovery of the mythical albums "Appetite for Destruction" by Guns'N 'Roses and' Master of Puppets' by Metallica; from there was born a real passion for Hard Rock and Metal ... in addition to the classic ...
Much later, and for the anecdote, my gift when I succeed at Paris Conservatory entrance examination in the cello class, was a Kirk Hammett (Metallica) signature guitar! Guitar that I still owe…

The Paris Conservatory’s era was very rich in learning, meetings, experiences; in addition to preparations for international competitions, various concerts in chamber music, I began to work as substitute cellist in the Paris Opera orchestra, an experience that lasted for 5 years as "additional to full time "and fascinated me in its entirety: discovery of a part of the repertoire, but also of this complete art where mingle musicians, singers, technicians, dancers, directors, costume designers, etc., ...
I also made friends who were in training FSMS (sound engineer) and allowed me to do my first sessions and develop the taste of high end gear!

When in 2002 I’ve had the opportunity to integrate Apocalyptica, this Finnish cello quartet known for its coverings of Metal, a dream came true by bringing together the best of both worlds: high-level cello playing Metallica ! Even though my time in the band was short, it was of great importance for the evolution of my career, my first steps in professional studios and my growing interest in sound recording ...

2004 was truly a pivotal and decisive year in my life as a musician: I went as principal cello to the NDR Orchestra in Hamburg, and this is the year I met Armand Amar, Daniel Mille and Jean -Louis Trintignant; 15 years later we are still working together! Armand Amar is a renowned composer who called me that year to play in the soundtrack of the movie « Le Couperet" directed by Costa-Gavras, a collaboration that has continued over the years on many other soundtracks (see Discography ).
The meeting with Daniel and Jean-Louis was made during the creation of the show "Apollinaire" at the Théâtre de la Madeleine in Paris ... a true complicity was born and we have since made hundreds of dates with our shows "Apollinaire" , "Vian Prévert Desnos" and lately "Trintignant Mille Piazzolla", not to mention the purely musical projects with Daniel only: accordion / cello duo, trio with the Oudist Driss El Maloumi, quintet with the project on Piazzolla (3 cellos, accordion and double bass on arrangements by the brilliant Samuel Strouk).

Following my experience with Apocalyptica, the need to have my own band was obvious ... but no question of redoing a cello ensemble playing rock! Working my guitar for a number of years, and composing in this style with this instrument, I naturally thought just integrate an electric cello to a basic rock line-up, voice / guitar / bass / drums, the cello being in term of ambitus midway between the bass and the guitar ...from that was born Angher (see Angher).

The fact of having rubbed shoulders with magnificent recording studios as well as great sound engineers (special mentions to Vincent Joinville of the studio Babel and Tristan Devaux) gave me the desire to have my own studio; This came to fruition in September 2017 thanks to the support and valuable advices of Armand Amar who greatly helped me in the design and the choice of equipments: high quality, and especially adapted to the sound of my instruments.



This studio, Beats & Bows Production, is a wonderful working tool that also allows me to explore the lands of movies soundtracks, with the latest composition and recording of additional music for "Mia and the White Lion" "by Gilles De Maistre, and the music of Leopold Legrand's" Mort aux codes "(see Musiques de film).




You can find more pages of this site others informations about the studio, the band, and myself!

Bienvenus sur mon site!

 

 


Musicien de formation classique, je me suis également intéressé très jeune à d’autres styles musicaux, en parallèle à mes études au conservatoire…à 10 ans un véritable électrochoc est arrivé avec la découverte des mythiques albums « Appetite for Destruction » des Guns'N'Roses et de «Master of Puppets » de Metallica; de là est né une véritable passion pour le Hard Rock et le Metal…en plus du classique…
Bien plus tard, et pour l’anecdote, mon cadeau quand je suis rentré au Conservatoire de Paris en violoncelle a été une guitare électrique modèle Kirk Hammett (Metallica)! Guitare que je possède toujours d’ailleurs…

L’époque du CNSMDP a été très riche en apprentissage, rencontres, expériences; en plus des préparations aux concours internationaux, des concerts variés en musique de chambre, j’ai commencé à travailler entre autre comme supplémentaire dans l’orchestre de l’Opéra de Paris, expérience qui s’est prolongée pendant 5 ans comme « supplémentaire à plein temps » et m’a fascinée dans sa globalité: découverte d’une part du répertoire, mais aussi de cet art complet où se mêlent musiciens, chanteurs, techniciens, danseurs, metteurs en scène, costumiers, etc,…
Je m’y suis également fait des amis qui étaient en formation FSMS (ingénieur du son) et m’ont permis de faire mes 1ères séances et développer le goût du beau matériel!

Quand en 2002 l’opportunité s’est présentée d’intégrer Apocalyptica, ce quatuor de violoncelles finlandais connu pour ses reprises de Metal, un rêve pour moi s’est réalisé en regroupant le meilleur des mondes: du violoncelle de haut niveau jouant du Metallica! Même si mon passage dans le groupe a été rapide, il a été d’une importance capitale pour l’évolution de ma carrière, mes premiers pas en studio professionnel et mon interêt grandissant pour la prise de son…

2004 a été véritablement une année charnière et décisive dans ma vie de musicien: Je suis rentré comme violoncelle solo à l’Orchestre de la NDR à Hambourg, et c'est l'année où j’ai rencontré  Armand Amar , Daniel Mille et Jean-Louis Trintignant; 15 ans plus tard nous travaillons toujours ensemble! Armand Amar est un compositeur de renom qui m’a appelé cette année là pour jouer dans la BO du film « Le Couperet » de Costa-Gavras, collaboration qui s’est prolongée avec les années sur d’autres nombreuses BO (cf. Discographie).
La rencontre avec Daniel et Jean-Louis s’est faite lors de la création du spectacle « Apollinaire » au théâtre de la Madeleine à Paris…une véritable complicité est ainsi née et nous avons depuis fait des centaines de dates avec nos spectacles « Apollinaire », « Vian Prévert Desnos » et dernièrement « Trintignant Mille Piazzolla », sans compter les projets purement musicaux avec Daniel uniquement: duo accordéon/violoncelle, trio avec le Oudiste Driss El Maloumi, quintette avec le projet sur Piazzolla (3 violoncelles, accordéon et contrebasse sur des arrangements du brillant Samuel Strouk).

Suite à mon expérience avec Apocalyptica, le besoin de monter mon propre groupe était une évidence…mais pas question de refaire un ensemble de violoncelles jouant du rock! Travaillant ma guitare depuis un certain nombre d’années, et composant dans ce style avec cet instrument, j’ai naturellement pensé juste intégrer un violoncelle électrique à une formation standard de rock, voix/guitare/basse/batterie, le violoncelle étant en terme d’ambitus à mi chemin entre la basse et la guitare….de cela est né Angher (cf. Angher).

Le fait d’avoir côtoyé de magnifiques studios d’enregistrement ainsi que de grands ingénieurs du son (mentions spéciales à Vincent Joinville du studio Babel et Tristan Devaux) m’a donné l’envie d’avoir mon propre studio; Cela s’est concrétisé en Septembre 2017 grâce au soutien et précieux conseils d’Armand Amar qui m’a grandement aidé dans la conception du lieu et le choix du matériel: de grande qualité, et surtout adapté aux prises de sons de mes instruments.

Ce studio, Beats&Bows Production, est un merveilleux outil de travail qui me permet également d'explorer les contrées de la musique à l'image et de film, avec dernièrement la composition et l'enregistrement de musiques additionnelles pour "Mia et le lion blanc" de Gilles De Maistre, et la musique du court-métrage "Mort aux codes" de Léopold Legrand (cf. Musiques de film).


Vous pourrez trouver au fil des pages de ce site d’autres informations sur le studio, le groupe, et moi même!